Co-funded by the EU, AfricaConnect3 builds on the work carried out by the EUMEDCONNECT (2004-2015), AfricaConnect (2011-2015) and AfricaConnect2 (2015-2019) projects, which have all contributed to supporting the creation and roll-out of affordable, high-capacity research and education networks (RENs) in Africa.

During the first two phases of AfricaConnect, 19 countries were connected to the three African regional networks:

  • UbuntuNet Alliance: Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  • WACREN: Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria and Togo.
  • ASREN: Algeria, Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia.